TechCrunch

Microsoft has an impressive new universal translator demonstration – Chief Research Officer Rick Rashid shows a real time translation of English (voice) to Chinese (voice, via text), with the interesting twist that the translated language is spoken in his own voice.

Rashid writes about it here, and there’s a video. More here.

This is a product that just naturally resonates with people. We’ve all seen Star Trek’s universal translator, and translating devices are common in science fiction. It’s a cool feeling to imagine speaking with someone who doesn’t share your language.

Clearly we’re only several years away from having exactly such a service. There are apps out there now claiming to do this (I haven’t tested this one or any others). A couple of years ago Google was showing off and talking about a similar product.

And two and a half years ago I saw a demo of…

View original post 250 more words

About Rob Vanasco

I am a Christ follower, but sometimes not a very good one. I am a husband, and working on getting better. I am a father, sometimes reluctantly. I am an aspiring writer, but have been lazy about pursuing my dream. So, this is me, doing something about it, searching for my real passion; my real dream. I am now in full pursuit of my dream to make a living with words.

Leave a Reply

